Create custom templates (Enterprise)
Enterprise accounts allow the creation of custom templates. By using a custom template, you ensure that all content creators in your company achieve full uniformity in terms of the corporate brand for all content that is to be created.
These templates allow content creators to start with a template that meets their needs, and which can come pre-loaded with the corporate logo, corporate font, default color palette, backgrounds, and layouts with corporate images, etc.
Creation of custom templates
Enterprise accounts have a special environment for the creation of custom templates.
Inside that environment, you can create the templates.
For each template, you can configure categories. The categories will be used to group slides.
Creation of slides in the template
So that it is easier to create templates, when a slide is added to your template, we offer you a slide catalog with examples that you can modify to adapt them to your corporate brand. This base style hardly includes design elements so as not to restrict your creativity; however, it offers you the most common teaching structures for course creation.
If none of the sample slides that we offer to you quite matches what you are looking for, you can always make your own slide templates from a blank slide.
Adding slides to the catalog
All the slides that you created may be added to the catalog that authors will later see. Click on the “add slide to catalog” option so that users can preview it.
All the slides you select will appear in the wizard’s catalog (when you create a new project).
As a template creator, you have access to Smart Colors. With this feature, you can create more adaptable and reusable templates in a simple way and save users from having to spend a lot of time customizing colors.
To tell you more about this powerful feature, we’ve prepared a helpful article that you can read here: Use of Smart Colors for Template Creators.
Configuration of template properties
Templates have all the properties of the projects (language, cover image, fonts, etc.); however, they also have the template image. This image will be used in the list of available templates when the user wants to create a new project.
Publishing the template
In order to make a template available to all users, it must be published. To publish a template, you must follow these steps:
- Prepare your template for review.
- Review the content: You can share this URL to review your template before publishing it. It will be displayed as a Classic course with a subsection for each category.
- Publish your template: Upon publishing your template, it will be available in the corporate template list when creating a new project. Once published you will not be able to remove it from the list.
Considerations to take into account: Updating the template
Once published for the first time, you can make changes to your template and publish it again. In this way, your templates can evolve as new needs arise. You only have to take the following considerations into account:
- If you are going to make extensive design changes to your template, we recommend you make a copy and create your new version there. In this way, projects that were already started will not come up against a break in their line of design.
- If you modify slides to reassign colors from the palette, remember that projects that are not fully finished will also undergo the design changes halfway through production, and this can bring about undesired effects.
- Be especially careful with changes to the theme colors palette. If you modify, add, or remove colors from the palette, the projects that have already been created will not reflect those changes.
- The situation may arise in which you add or modify slides to make use of a new color. In that case, keep in mind that all the projects that had made use of your template will not know how to display that color and it will appear in black. In this case, we once again recommend you create a new version of your template.
- Modifications to catalog names and/or images are changes that update automatically without the need to publish again. Take that into account if you don’t want the changes to be seen until other changes in your template’s content have been published. In that case, we recommend you change the name and image just before publishing the rest of the modifications.